Mann's Men
The MCC Team in South Africa 1922-23

By Brian Bassano
October 2004
J.W. McKenzie
ISBN: 9780947821128
Distributed by Trans-Atlantic Publications
140 pages, Illustrated
$40.00 Paper original

This is a detailed account of the 1922-23 M.C.C. tour of South Africa, captained by F T Mann, with full scores of all the matches. The 1922-23 M.C.C. team was the strongest yet to tour South Africa, despite players of the calibre of Hobbs, Sutcliffe, Hearne and Parkin declining the invitation to tour.

The team included F T Mann, A Sandham, A C Russell, C P Mead, F E Woolley, V W C Jupp, A W Carr, A E R Gilligan and G Brown. Captained by F T Mann, England won the close Test series by two matches to one. During the Fifth Test A C Russell became the first English cricketer to score a century in each innings of a Test match.



Return to the Trans-Atlantic Home Page